mixed breed

Hudson 2023-056

Est date of birth: September 6, 2021

Sex: Male

Weight (approx): 40 lbs

Energy: Medium-High

Children: untested

Dogs: Yes

Cats: untested

Hello there, I’m Hudson, a high-energy and affectionate four-legged friend looking for a forever home that can keep up with my enthusiasm and zest for life. Let me tell you a bit about myself!

Exercise Enthusiast:

I thrive on playtime and walks. Recently, we went for a walk, and I couldn’t contain my excitement at first, but I settled down to explore and sniff all the wonderful scents around. We even visited a green space nearby, and I met other dogs – we had a blast together.

What Gets Me Excited:

I’m a fan of treats, food, people, and toys. When it comes to settling down, well, it takes me a while, especially in the evenings. I tend to pace around and check out the kitchen – you know, where all the delicious food is. Sometimes, I might get mischievous and chew up a dishcloth or pull a plate off the counter (Corelle for the win, right?).

Getting Along with Other Animals:

I’m great with other dogs and love to play, but sometimes my energy can be a bit overwhelming for more laid-back companions like my buddy, Howie. As for cats, I’m still figuring them out. The other day, a neighbor’s cat paid us a visit, and I joined in the barking fun, even though I didn’t quite understand what we were barking at!

Meeting New People and Experiencing New Things:

I’m pretty good at meeting strangers. Sometimes, I’ll lay down and be calm, while other times, I can’t resist jumping up to say hello. When it comes to new situations, I’m getting better at adjusting. I remember when I first arrived in a home, I’d hide behind the loveseat when folks were working in the kitchen. Now, I’m more comfortable and even sit by the fire, though it took me a little time to warm up to it.

Child and Family-Friendly:

I’ve spent time with a 5-year-old and a 1-year-old, and I got along just fine, offering cuddles and maybe sneaking some candy from the baby if it’s within reach.

House and Crate Training:

I’ve made progress with house training, but there have been a few accidents. I’m doing better each day, though. When it comes to the crate, I’m a pro and even sleep in it at night. This keeps me from wandering the house and bothering Howie.

On-Leash Behavior:

I’m working on it. I tend to pull at first, but I get better as the walk goes on. It’s a bit challenging when treats are involved because my fellow beagle, Howie, is quite the food lover.

Behavioral Traits:

I’ve found my voice and can be a bit noisy. I can get nippy and jumpy, and sometimes I’ll even bite at ankles. It’s a work in progress, but I’m learning to be better with consistent training.

The Ideal Home for Me:

I’d be a great fit for a family with or without kids. I have a lot of love to give and need a family that’s willing to reciprocate. I’ll do well with daily exercise, brain stimulation through enrichment toys, and a loving environment to call my own.

Final Thoughts:

I’ve come a long way since I first arrived, and I’m ready to embark on the next chapter of my life. With the right family and training, I know I can be an awesome addition to someone’s home. I’m just waiting for that perfect match.

If you’re looking for an active and affectionate companion, I’m your guy! Let’s start our journey together.

Hudson has built up some airmiles points. This handsome youngster was relocated to Edmonton from Hay River, NT during the wildfire evacuations. Hudson came to hart in healthy condition and is ready to find his furver family. Since being in our care Hudson has received DACPP, Bordatella, Rabies and is neutered and microchipped.

Hudson is a bit mouthy and has high energy.  His foster home is working on enrichment and training. 

Adopt Me

Adoption Process